Should I Get a Pinterest?

Recently, I somewhat reluctantly created my own Pinterest account. I was reluctant because I didn’t want to be perceived as a stereotypical girl who spends her life on the addictive website planning her dream wedding (or dream closet, or whatever). But ultimately I created it primarily to help me with meal planning. Eating well is important to me, and even though I’m still in the early stages of changing my eating habits, Pinterest has been helpful in providing me with meal ideas as well as keeping those ideas organized. I have to admit that it seems much more orderly to have a board devoted to main dishes rather than trying to bookmark all the recipes I find on the internet.

For some people, maybe Pinterest is a waste of time. For others, it is a useful tool. Ultimately I had to ask myself, “Will this add value to my life?” That is probably one of the more important questions when considering making a change. For me, I think it does add value to my life, because I am trying to use it as a tool to help me be more mindful of my diet. Granted, I still have fun with it (I created a board devoted entirely to muffin recipes I’d like to try), and I still want to be careful about how much time I spend on the internet, but I think for me this account has been a good thing. And yay for good things!

Leave a Reply

