What I Did for Lent

I’m not really one to give up something for Lent. But this year I heard lots of people talking about it, so I thought I might as well give it a go also. But because I don’t have a great history in my relationship with deprivation, I figured that instead of giving up chocolate or caffeinne, I would give up self-neglect.

At this stage in my life, I wouldn’t say I purposely neglect myself. But there have been times when just getting out of bed is a chore, not to mention showering, eating, and exercising. I know I am in a decent place now, so I wanted to use Lent as an opportunity to really focus on taking care of my body and mind, to commit to  developing a routine.

I began practicing yoga in my living room multiple days per week. I have been carrying my water bottle with me throughout the day to remind me to stay hydrated. I am trying to become more mindful of eating well, although that is still an area in which I face challenges. However, I am noticing myself being more mindful of my breathing throughout the day. My body craves movement when I don’t exercise. I feel as though this is possibly the healthiest my body has ever been, and it feels great.

I still have a long way to go regarding endurance training or superfood snacks, but I’m on my way to a healthier me. And I’m proud of that.

Leave a Reply

