Minimalism and the Internet

I am now settled into my new apartment with the adventures of adulthood knocking at my door. For the first month of my living here, I thought I would experiment with not purchasing a wifi plan and seeing how long I could last.

Not the best idea.

I will say this: I’m not a fan of people who are addicted to their screens. Sometimes I can be that person, although I try not to be. I figured it was worth trying to go without internet and therefore purging what wasn’t adding value to my life. Hopefully it would force me to get out more.

The problem I had was that instead of going out more, I stayed in more. I cocooned. Being introverted, I already don’t like to go out much, and not having internet only made me feel more lonely and less connected. Sometimes, if I have several days off from work, I may not even leave my house because I see no reason to. I entertain myself with cleaning, crafting, and reading. Sometimes I would try to hang out with friends, but I’m also in that stage where I’m trying to find a community outside of college, which brings with it its own unique challenges. There are only so many things to do inside a house before boredom joins the party.

I want to view the internet as a tool, and I admit I do waste time on it, but if I’m not going to leave my house anyway, at least the internet gives me the ability to find new articles, watch movies, and see what other people my age are up to.

Hopefully as time goes on, I may find more valuable ways to pass the time, but for now, this is where I am in my journey.

2 thoughts on “Minimalism and the Internet

  1. This is what happens every time I try to take a break from Facebook. I get incredibly lonely and re-read the same books. Facebook helps me learn about events and keep in touch with my faraway friends. It is really hard, however, to find the balance between “absolutely no facebook, send me a telegram” and “OMG YOU UPDATED YOUR STATUS FIVE SECONDS AGO LET ME COMMENT AND REFRESH THE FEED TO SEE WHO POSTED MORE RECENTLY.”

  2. Exactly. In today’s culture, I’m not sure either extreme is really healthy. There does need to be a balance, but I’m not sure what that is. If I come to any breakthroughs I’ll let you know 🙂

Leave a Reply

