Stir-fry and Sunshine

Summer 2013

The great thing about working in a farm market is that I get to meet a lot of interesting people. We get all sorts of customers – old, young, travelers, locals, people whose accents I struggle to understand.

The other day there came in a woman with her son, who was probably about 12 or 13 years old. But let me say, he was one of the most respectful and sociable 12 or 13 year old boys I’ve met. He took the lead in picking out peppers and squash, and he told me about the stir-fry he was planning to make for dinner that night before he going to a scouts meeting.

I almost thought he was home-schooled because of the ease with which he interacted with me as well as the other adults in the market (I mean that as a compliment; sometimes home-schoolers are known for interacting well with adults). But then I realized he wore a shirt bearing the name of the local school.

I meet a lot of different customers, but that young boy made my day. Lord bless him and the beautiful mother raising him.

One thought on “Stir-fry and Sunshine

Leave a Reply

