A Woman Worth Knowing

I would like you to meet a friend of mine. Well, I guess technically, she is more of an acquaintance than a friend. I suppose if the two of us were more extroverted around each other, we might be friends, but such is the nature of those who are quiet thinkers.

I won’t say her name, out of respect for her as well as to avoid embarrassment. But I will say that she is beautiful. And not the kind of beauty that screams, “Look at me!” Some have a natural ability to turn people’s heads while walking down the street. But that’s not the kind of beauty I’m talking about. I’m talking about the beauty that makes you think. The kind that you may not notice at first if you’re not looking, but is like a hidden treasure once you’ve discovered it. Her soft eyes radiate a gentle warmth that reinforces the kindness in her smile. She may seem to have a quiet voice, but her strength of character comes not from the volume of her voice.

I would say that within her lies a dedication and a passion for learning that I don’t see in every girl. She loves to read extensively, and so there will never be a shortage of conversation topics in her presence, although she is not the kind of person who would dominate a conversation. She conducts herself with grace, and is often willing to lend a helping hand when needed.

For those of you who have the privilege of meeting and knowing her, I want to say this: don’t mistake her quiet spirit for shyness or disinterest. It may take some time to get to know her well, but it is time well spent, for she is a woman worth knowing.

Leave a Reply

