Levine and the Perfect Woman

Recently I’ve been listening to Maroon 5 a lot. Why, I’m not sure. I guess I’m just going through a phase where I really like the pop-y textures of the songs, as well as the heartfelt yearnings of the lyrics.

That being said, one thing that has stood out to me was the theme of female beauty and “perfection” in Maroon 5’s songs. In the second verse of “Daylight,” for example, Adam Levine sings, “Here I am staring/at your perfection in my arms/so beautiful.” Or in “Beautiful Goodbye,” he sings “I can’t take it; you’re even perfect when you cry.” What exactly does he mean by this perfection?

At a glance, it would seem that a woman’s perfection is defined by her physical beauty. But I think a closer look may reveal a deeper meaning. In the context of each of these songs, the main character (in this case, Levine), is expressing a longing to stay with his lover even though he knows he must say goodbye. I think it is at the base of this longing that we find his affection for and attraction to his lover. This “perfection” that he attributes to her is an expression of his love.

At first, it bothered me that the use of the word “perfect” appeared in a context of describing her physically. I personally do not want my physical beauty to be the only thing that draws a man to me. But in defense of the songwriter(s), I do not think that is what the main character is saying. I think it is only natural for someone who is in a relationship to think that his lover is the prettiest, the funniest, the smartest, or whatever other characteristics that person may value.

Of course, the other, less-analytical side of me says, “Dude, just shut up and enjoy the song. You’re over-thinking it.” Perhaps I am over-thinking it. But I over-think a lot of things. That’s what helps me to understand and appreciate the world better. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

