My Journey to Minimalism

I follow a blog called The Minimalists, which has inspired me to want to live a simpler life. In general I try to be frugal, because having too much stuff overwhelms me, especially when that stuff accumulates into a disorganized mess.

I want to work even more toward living a minimalistic life – getting rid of unnecessary things, working toward living more purposefully and meaningfully. The Minimalists wrote a series of posts about their 21-day journey to minimalism, so I want to create my own series of posts documenting my journey to minimalism this summer. This will also force me to write more, which is something I’ve been wanting to do as well.

For a long time I’ve had a dream of one day being able to fit all my belongings – or at least all my clothes – in a single suitcase so that I could pack up and go anywhere at a moment’s notice if need be. I do not intend to reach that goal this summer, but I do intend to downsize. Downsize the stuff, downsize the stress. I hope that by coming with me on my journey, maybe you will be inspired to work toward a more meaningful life as well, whatever that may look like for you.

Leave a Reply

