My First Massage

There’s something beautiful about surrendering your body to the care of another. It’s humbling, but it’s also rewarding. Humbling, because you’re allowing someone into your personal space; rewarding, because there is a certain freedom that comes with being able to let go.

My birthday was recently, so I wanted to treat myself to a professional massage. I’m not a very touchy-feely person, so I wasn’t sure what to expect, being a little weirded out by the idea of someone touching me. But the therapist greeted me with a warm smile and made me feel at ease right away. She led me into a small, dimly lit room where soft music played in the background, talked me through what to expect, and then left me to get settled onto the table.

She started with my head; I had forgotten that head massaging was a thing. But it was great. She moved her way around the table, working on different parts of my body, not neglecting even my hands and feet. She massaged muscles I didn’t even realize I had, causing me to want to just melt with relaxation. It was only thirty minutes, and I was sad that it went by so quickly, but I felt wonderful afterwards. Not happy, exactly, but more at rest. Less stressed out than I had been after a long week.

Getting a massage might not be for everyone, but if you’re looking for a way to relieve some stress, I would definitely recommend it – especially if you’re like me and enjoy trying new things.

Aroma Therapy

 

photo by Google Images

Leave a Reply

