Summer Adventures: Don’t Drown!

I didn’t think of myself as much of a control freak until I stepped into water.

Yes, it’s true. I didn’t learn how to swim when I was younger. And people are shocked when I tell them that. But I decided it was time to change that. It was time I learn how to prolong my life for another five minutes in case I was stuck in deep water, since that’s a pretty useful skill.

I went to my friends’ house a couple times, where I learned in their four-foot deep pool how to doggy paddle and float on my back.

And it was awesome.

The hardest part for me was being able to relax. I felt a need to keep my head completely above water and my feet on the ground; otherwise I felt like I lost control. But when you’re swimming you have to give up control. You have to trust the water to carry your body, and you have to trust yourself to stay afloat.

My friend Joanie told me repeatedly, “You need to relax. Once you can relax, everything will become so much easier.” And it did. And it felt amazing. Yes, I felt out of control. But being able to accept that I wasn’t in complete control helped me to enjoy the experience more. Now I can’t wait to get back in the pool and learn more!

Relax. Enjoy life.

Leave a Reply

