Follow Your Dreams?!?

Follow your dreams is a saying that I’m hearing over and over again. And over and over again I find myself asking, “What if you don’t know your dreams?”

 

I’m beginning to hate that saying.

 

I’m all for doing what you love and loving what you do. If you know what your passion is, then by all means, go for it. Pursue it. Don’t hold back. But what if you don’t know what your passion is?

 

A lot of people my age appear to have it all together, but I’ll openly admit that I have no idea what I’m doing. No idea where I’m going, and no idea where I want to go. On one hand, not knowing is fun and exciting, because it allows for open-mindedness, creativity, and spontaneity. On the other hand, it’s frustrating, because indecisiveness leaves me paralyzed at times. I feel stuck.

 

I don’t want to feel stuck anymore.

 

Through taking advantage of several resources such as blogs, books, and speeches, I’ve found several ideas to try that might help me understand what I enjoy doing and discover what I want to do in the future. This is the beginning of a new journey for me, one that I plan to document here. I’m inviting you to share in the journey, and maybe we can learn something together.

2 thoughts on “Follow Your Dreams?!?

  1. Hey Katherine. I totally understand what you are going through. Took me several years to figure out where I wanted to go. I am just thankful God had my back. He put some very important people in the right places, especially Karen, with whom I am celebrating our 20th anniversary in April. Anyway, I am looking forward to seeing what path you choose. Just know He is helping you always.

  2. Hi Katherine,

    I agree with Mike’s comments wholeheartedly. I would add that trying to figure out what you should be doing with your life can be very difficult for many people – some never really figure it out. I believe you have to start where your are, with the talents God has blessed you with. You are also still in college and continuing to develop your talents and your mind. Please make the most of your college experence, but after graduation, realize it’s not the end of your education. If nothing else, a good education will train your mind to become a better thinker, problem solver and maybe even along the way allow you to figure out what God’s plan for you seems to be. One of the best signs that you are on the right track is that you find that you are very passionate about a certain vocation, profession or artistic endeavor. So for the time being, my advise is to focus on finishing college, learn as much as you can about the more interesting paths God places in front of you, and trust in him that he will guide you to where you need to go.

    -Victor

Leave a Reply

